hydrolyzed protein

coco_and_april

Hello,

A bit of background: I’ve been cooking for Coco for the last 5 months using BalanceIt recipes and their supplement but she still has an ongoing problem with loose stools or diarrhea. I went to the vet and he has suggested putting her on hydrolyzed protein. I was wondering if anyone here feeds their cocker this type of prescription dog food and how it has worked. I still feel better about making her food because I feel it’s healthier and safer but am wondering if I should give this food a chance. Hearing others experiences would help me get a little perspective since the vet did not say much about it. Thanks.

Wishing you the best. We have no experience with hydrolyzed protein food. If you try it let us know about your experience.

No, I've never tried it. I prefer feeding my dog as close to unprocessed as possible. I homecook also.

No, I've never tried it. I prefer feeding my dog as close to unprocessed as possible. I homecook also.
Hi Polly. I agree. That’s my line of thinking too. Unprocessed is better. Do your dogs ever have trouble with loose stools or diarrhea with the home cooking? Is that maybe just a normal part of this diet? I new to home cooking, so I’m not sure if it’s normal.

Hi Polly. I agree. That’s my line of thinking too. Unprocessed is better. Do your dogs ever have trouble with loose stools or diarrhea with the home cooking? Is that maybe just a normal part of this diet? I new to home cooking, so I’m not sure if it’s normal.
No Pye's stools are normal. Do you give her city tap water to drink, or, are you on a well. When we moved to our current home (we live in a National Forest) and to well water for the first time, I had a horrible time getting my dogs used to it, they had diarrhea, I went homeopathic, and, boiled the water before giving it to them. I am wondering if it could be your water.