Another recruit

poptart

Scottish, not British.
Owned by
1 cocker
A big wave from a cold wet Scotland!

My new baby is Tiree, a 13 week old working cocker spaniel. Also have an elderly cavalier called Theo, just to complicate things.
Looking forward to getting to know you all and learn lots.

Sandra

Fi is my first cocker and I have fallen hard for cockers. Lately I have been looking at working cockers and was wondering about their general temperament and how they differ from the show lines. Any information you have to share on the subject would be greatly appreciated. I am interested in their trainability and ability to focus, are they resource guarders, etc. Does your dog come from actively hunted lines?

Yes, both his parents are working gun dogs. He's my first cocker so I don't pretend to be an expert on the breed, I'm just learning myself. I've had two cavalier spaniels and they are similar but there are differences. Even at his young age Tiree is full of energy, he's very lean and athletic in build. From what I've seen show cockers are more squat in build as well as having longer, high maintenance coats. So far I've found Tiree very willing to learn and very keen to come when he's called (although I haven't plucked the courage to let him off the lead on walks yet!). I'm home with him all day and he's intensely interested in everything I'm doing. My impression is the breed is very oriented to people and needs human company. That's what makes them so useful as working dogs I suppose. He's also an odd mixture of boldness and timidity.