Cocker spaniel color?

vanessa02

I am new to the Cocker spaniel breed and I have a new puppy who I plan to breed in the distant future. So I’m trying to get as much information as I can. I’m confused about the colors. Is my female buff or red? I was told one parent was buff and one red. Also, she has a little white on one foot. Does that make her a certain color and white or do solid colors have a small amount of white?
Also, I plan to buy a male eventually. What color should I get to have the most variety in color? I currently breed Australian Shepherds and their genetics seem easy compared to what I’ve read on Cockers. Thanks so much!9C0F4EB6-C6E2-4707-A2C7-626BCC78464F.jpeg

I believe that red is making a comeback with American Cockers. They are in the same family as buff. Not sure what color you should buy.
Perhaps you can meet a show cocker breeder that lives close by and see if they would be willing to mentor you. Best to learn the right
way. Good Luck!

It’s difficult to tell if your puppy is a buff or a sable from the picture, I’m guessing a buff. Sables cannot be shown in AKC shows. What did the breeder tell you about the puppy’s color?

I guess I’m going to be a bit of a downer here but how much do you know about cocker spaniels? Your puppy is adorable but is your puppy AKC Registered? Is she from championship lines? Did you get at least a three generation family tree with your puppy? Did your breeder show you the eye clearances for both the bitch and the dog? Were you shown both the bitch and dog ofa certificates for their hips? For the betterment of the breed both dog should have their eyes checked to try to avoid passing on inherited eye diseases that are common in cocker spaniels The same with their hips. If you’re going to be a responsible breeder you should do the same with your dogs. The tests aren’t inexpensive but very necessary to help to insure healthy cocker spaniels.