desexing + hand stripping

ashleigh17

Hi everyone :)

I'm a newbie here so apologies if this sort of question has already been answered or if I put my foot in it some how!

I'm looking to get a cocker as my next dog and have done a lot of research, however I do have a few questions about grooming. I have only ever had labradors in the past so my grooming experience is next to nothing. Having said that, I'm not opposed to grooming, I think it will something I will enjoy.

My question relates to a few different factors; curly/wooly coats, desexing and clipping. Is it possible to have a desexed cocker who is hand stripped to avoid the wooly/curly coat? Or does desexing guarantee a wooly/curly coat even if you avoid the clippers (maybe due to hand stripping not being possible)? I am planning on desexing as I don't intend to show or breed etc.

My other question is if it is possible to obtain a semi-decent coat if you are diligent with a mars coat king and a slicker brush? Or does it have to be hand stripping? Also do bums and inside of ears need to be clipped (i.e. will I need to purchase clippers anyway).

Thanks everyone :) :) :)

I see you're from Australia so I'm not sure if you mean English cockers or American cockers. I think even English cockers require some trimming but you will definitely need clippers and scissors for American cockers. I'm not sure if neutering influences coats. Maybe someone else will answer this.

Hi, yes I mean english. Sorry for the confusion, in Australia english cocker spaniels are simply called "cocker spaniels" where as american cocker spaniels are actually called "american cocker spaniels" :)