Hello from NJ

dizzy

Hello everyone. I'd like to introduce myself and tell you a bit about myself.

First off, my user name. My initials are DZ, and I suffer from vertigo attacks, hence I'm Dizzy.

The reason for the vertigo attacks is because I have an inner ear disorder-Meniere's Disease (MD). Not only do I get vertigo attacks, but I'm also losing my hearing. And, while there are some medications that I can take that may be able to help, I've been controlling it thru diet for over 20 years. In that time, I've only had one major attack and that was this past September. I was so dizzy that even turning my head made me feel like I was going to be sick. When I'm not dizzy, I'm pretty active. I've found that anything I can do that involves balance is actually good for me. I used to do karate, but gave that up when I got my horse. I still ride, but a different horse and also ride a motorcycle when my health and the weather permits it.

Currently, I do not own a cocker (nor any other dog), but I have owned 2 in the past. They are my favorite breed of dogs. As much as I want another dog, right now is not a good time for me to be getting a puppy. However, if at all possible, I'm hoping to get one in the fall.

I found this forum by accident today. Both of my cockers had a different type of coat and I was doing some research trying to find out what the different coats were. And that's how I found this forum! I found out that my first cocker, a black female named Ebony had a field coat-and that's what I want. My 2nd cocker, Sandy, had a show coat. I got her right around when I was struck w/my MD and I could not keep up w/her care. After I lost her, I tried a Springer Spaniel instead in the hope that w/their coat, they'd be easier to care for. Well, Patches' coat was easier, but she was way more hyper, so I'm back to wanting a cocker.