Hello!

JintyS

Newbie here!
Just got our Working Cocker a week ago, he is now 9 weeks. The first three nights I was trying to get him to sleep in his crate but no chance! I know we have committed the cardinal sin of letting him sleep in a dog bed in our room, but that seems to be ok, he has slept through the night except for one toilet break for the last two nights.
I have been concentrating on crate training during the day with a good deal of success, building gradually until today I was able to leave him for 45 mins while I ran an errand. He loves his dog bed though and has chosen to nap in there voluntarily several times today.
My plan is now to gradually introduce nighttime crate training but we cannot fit the crate in our bedroom as lots of training sites recommend. It means using the crate downstairs and the minute we leave all hell breaks loose.
I need some advice and reassurance that Im doing ok. Im scared that I am missing the joy of my puppy by obsessing over the training stuff. My husband is much more relaxed but I feel he lets the pup away with murder!
We already had a working cocker who sadly had to be put to sleep in December, so we have experience of raising the same breed from puppy. It seems so long ago since we were going through puppy stages!

Welcome. Your puppy sure is cute. I have crate trained my dogs. However if you are crate training during the day and your puppy stays in his bed at night and is doing well there is nothing that says that you have to crate him at night. Most puppies really like to be with their people during the night and if your crate won’t fit in your room and he does well with you maybe having him stay in his bed is your answer.