How will spaying change my dog?

Mel Blacke

"They" say that spaying calms your dog down----that seems to be the common wisdom anyway....does anyone care to weigh in on whether this is true or not? Will Fiona lose her drive and change into a different personality? I can say with absolute certainty that it made no difference with my plott/dobe/lab mix's drive but he was male and my beagle was already spayed when we adopted her. Any thoughts on this?

Most of the females I have had thru the years, I adopted directly from the Animal Shelters so I can't say if it changed their personalities since I didn't get to bring them home till they were spayed, Pye I got as a pup and NOPE no change in him when I had him neutered. Pogo was neutered when I adopted him.

Neither Hoshi or Gabby were neutered so I've had no experience with this.

I've not seen any change in activity/personality, but Bella was spayed prior to her first heat.
I have heard from breeders that they had a positive change in their females who were noticeably "hormonal" throughout the year.
I was also told that fixed females won't blow their coats. There might be some truth to that.
My old cocker who wasn't fixed used to completely blow her coat twice a year.
The 2 I have now don't shed nearly so much.