Differences in Coat Types

Marti

Owned by
1 cocker
Not sure this is the right place to post this so please move if necessary. :)

I am so excited to finally have Cocker owners to "talk" to!! None of my friends have them and I have only ever been a member of GSD boards on the web. One thing I have always wondered about are the different types of coats I have noticed. Some seem to have very curly coats while others have finer, wispy fur that appears wavy or even somewhat straight. Is there something that describes or even shows the different coat types and is one more of the standard than the other(s)?

I am no expert but I know in my pups my English cocker boy has finer straight hair and my american cockers girl has the more wavy hair. So it might be based on the subgroup english vs american.

Maybe Kelly or Gina can answer this. I'd like to know myself. Great question.

EDIT: CharlieRose might be on to something there.

Butters fur gets very curly when it starts to grow out. People mistake him for a girl all the time. At tleast they also don't think he is expecting.;)

Way back in the day, American Cockers used to have similar coat to what English Cockers have now. They weren't nearly as full and cottony as they tend to be now (for the most part). Then some Cockers were born with fluffy coats, and they started to win in the ring. And so the birth of the HUGE Cocker coat . . .

Correct coat is straight, silky and almost cool to the touch. It doesn't mat easily, and sticks and dirt almost "fall" out of it. Jack's coat is fairly good . . . even when he hasn't had a bath in a while, his hair is straight. Grace's is similar, but hers isn't as silky.

The thicker coat that tends to curl up a bit when it's wet isn't as correct, and it's tougher to look after. It tends to get very thick after the dog is spayed or neutered, and they almost look like sheep if the hair is short and they get wet.