Upgrade to two?

Jenn11

Owned by
1 cocker
We appear to have tracked down a lovely looking little male cocker that needs a new home, due to the arrival of a new baby. He's a black and tan boy, neutered, 3 yrs old and lived with other dogs previously. Apparently, he was stuck by a child when he was a pup and has growled at some children. We are thinking about meeting him, as his current owner's description makes it seems as though he has a similar energy to Peeka. I have some experience with training dogs, and I'm open to bringing in a dog trainer. Opinions clearly welcomed ! My only reservation is that we don't have children yet. I believe that these things can be worked on, but maybe I'm wrong.

Related topic of interest: For those of you with two or more cockers, any comments on the pros versus the drawbacks of owning two cockers while still in the workforce? Words of wisdom are always encouraged. I am entertaining the idea b/c I think it wold be nice for Peeka to have a buddy, and b/c I have fallen in love with the breed.

I have always held to the belief that two dogs get into less trouble than one. I know that sounds stupid but it has always worked for us. I guess they keep each other entertained.

definitely going with Dot's response! Cockers are like tater chips....you really can't have just one!

I had never had two until we got Riley but I really like having two. They are best friends and I don't they feel as lonely when we leave them at home. They are company for each other.