hydrolyzed protein

coco_and_april

Hello,

A bit of background: I’ve been cooking for Coco for the last 5 months using BalanceIt recipes and their supplement but she still has an ongoing problem with loose stools or diarrhea. I went to the vet and he has suggested putting her on hydrolyzed protein. I was wondering if anyone here feeds their cocker this type of prescription dog food and how it has worked. I still feel better about making her food because I feel it’s healthier and safer but am wondering if I should give this food a chance. Hearing others experiences would help me get a little perspective since the vet did not say much about it. Thanks.

manuel

Administrator
Staff member
Owned by
1 cocker
Wishing you the best. We have no experience with hydrolyzed protein food. If you try it let us know about your experience.

Polly

Super Moderator
Staff member
Owned by
1 cocker
No, I've never tried it. I prefer feeding my dog as close to unprocessed as possible. I homecook also.

coco_and_april

No, I've never tried it. I prefer feeding my dog as close to unprocessed as possible. I homecook also.
Hi Polly. I agree. That’s my line of thinking too. Unprocessed is better. Do your dogs ever have trouble with loose stools or diarrhea with the home cooking? Is that maybe just a normal part of this diet? I new to home cooking, so I’m not sure if it’s normal.

Polly

Super Moderator
Staff member
Owned by
1 cocker
Hi Polly. I agree. That’s my line of thinking too. Unprocessed is better. Do your dogs ever have trouble with loose stools or diarrhea with the home cooking? Is that maybe just a normal part of this diet? I new to home cooking, so I’m not sure if it’s normal.