So Happy I Found You!

brynnyks

Hi Everyone! My name is Brynn, I'm from Saskatchewan, Canada and my 'fur baby' is a 6 year old american cocker named Ben, known as Benny since my niece named him that when she was 2 and pissed that he stole her doll. Benny and I have been together for nearly 6 years and I can't believe how time has flown by! I'll be honest...I was 23, looking to fill a void, and completely unprepared when I fell in love with my boy and adopted him almost completely on impulse. We've had our rough times (to say the least!), learning curves and adjustments, but he's been the consistent and unwavering "man" in my life through it all, taking care of me as much as I take care of him. Benny and I have been raising each other on a trial and error basis for the past 6 years and we've managed to work out the kinks pretty well! I truly feel like we've been through it all! He's become the piece of my life I just can't imagine living without; he's taught me more about myself and life in general than I ever could have learned without him. He's getting older though...developing arthritis in his hips, getting tired more easily, getting just a touch more snippy, and just last night he had a seizure:( It's become quite clear that trial and error isn't going to cut it on the 'back 9' of Benny's life, and dragging him to the vet every time a new/concerning behavior arises is less than ideal, so I came looking for re-inforcements! I look forward to learning from you all and hope to be able to offer some perspective of my own based on my personal experiences with Benny.

Welcome Brynn and Benny. Your posts will be moderated at first so they might take a little while to appear.

My name is Karen and I live in CA with my husband Keith and two cocker spaniels Farley and Ki.