Training

Tracy

Owned by
2 cockers
Hi everyone. I started training my two Cocker Spaniel puppies (11 weeks) last Saturday at Petsmart. Our week one homework was to get your puppy to look at you for 15 seconds straight. The 2 trainers said if they cant do this they are not ready to move on. I'm having trouble getting them to stare at me for that long. I can get there attention for atleast 5 seconds (sometimes longer). The point of this excercise is to get them to look at you so when we move on to other training (like sit, come, stay) I can get my puppies to pay attention to me. My question is: Isn't 5 seconds good enough for now (i'm assuming they will get better with time). I have training every week so we only have 1 week to practice each excercise, which, in my opinion, isn't long enough. Has anyone else done this training? Do you really need the full 15 seconds to move on? Thanks for any input.

Did they say you could use treats as an incentive? I'm sure I could keep my 14yr and 5mos cocker's attention with treats.

Yes! Mine will be at attention for as long as I have a treat in my hand ^_^
Tracy we LOVE pictures!^_^

In our 3rd puppy class we were told to have our pups look at us while we hold a treat to our foreheads. Once they've done it for as long as you want them to, they get the treat. You feel like a total idiot but I guess it is good for the dogs! We've already gone over sit, stay, come and walking on a leash so I'm not sure why your trainer said your puppy can't move on without this. With a class full of other puppies and distractions, all of the puppies were enthralled by the treats and could care less what else was going on...so, I'd try it with a treat held up to your forehead!