Advice for a prospective new owner.

simno44

Hello
And thank you for the time taken in reading my post.

My name is Simon and I am a UK resident looking I to welcoming a new member to our little family.

I live with my partner Holly in a lovely, modest period cottage in Leeds, West Yorkshire.
Recently we have fallen in love with the Spaniel breads and we feel the correct dog for is would be an English cocker spaniel.

Springers are lovely however may be a bit to big for our home, also a standard or American cocker would have the same issue.

I suppose the questions I am wanting to ask are:
Given the above information does the cocker sound good or us?

After the early puppy stages holly and I will be continuing to work shift patterns. We frequently over lap so when our dog is left alone. The maximum amount of time he will have to fend for himself is 6 to 7 hours on very rare occasions.

Are there any pit falls I should be looking for?
I am of course looking for good and healthy dogs, KC registered and from a breaderr who has experience of the trade.

Additionally when looking for dogs I look for breeders who are more in it for the love than they are the money. I find this helps.

Any advice would be welcome. Many thanks.
Simon and Holly. :)

Ps..
We are also struggling for name ideas. Preferably male :)

Welcome! I'm Polly and I live with hubby and our 2 American cockers, soon to be 3! English cockers are wonderful. They are a little bit larger than the usual American I believe, but, not by much. Yes Springers are a larger breed. All cockers are very active and happy. Visit breeders with a list of questions. And, I'm sure others here will have very good advice for you.

Your posts will be moderated for a short while.